DMA'S announce new music & UK dates for May and October 2020

news: Friday 31st January 2020

DMA's at Glasgow Summer Sessions 2018

DMA'S have revealed details of their forthcoming 3rd studio album 'THE GLOW'. It was recorded and mixed by multiple Grammy winner Stuart Price (The Killers, Madonna, New Order) in between Westlake Studios in West Hollywood & RAK Studios in London.

UK Album Tour dates have also been announced including the band's biggest London headline show to date at Alexandra Palace in October as well as further May shows in Hull, Southampton & Norwich.

Tickets go on general sale from 9am on Friday 7th February, available from here.

Thu 5th Mar - London, University Of London Union (SOLD OUT)
Fri 6th Mar - London, O2 Brixton Academy (SOLD OUT)
Fri 1st May - Hull, Bonus Arena
Sat 2nd May - Live At Leeds Festival
Sun 3rd May - Newcastle, Hit The North Festival
Tue 5th May - Southampton, O2 Guildhall
Wed 6th May - Norwich, UEA
Thu 9th Jul - Manchester, Sounds Of The City, Castlefield Bowl (SOLD OUT)
Sat 18th Jul - Glasgow, Hampden Park (SOLD OUT)
Fri 23rd Oct - London, Alexandra Palace

'THE GLOW' finds DMA'S fulfilling their world class potential with a collection of songs that are destined for arenas. From their emotive heart to their towering, anthemic hooks, the core traits that have earned the band a growing global following are all in place. But with the help of Price, DMA'S have elevated both sides of their sonic spectrum to new heights.

It's a mission statement that the trio immediately encapsulate within the opening two tracks. A swaggering mash-up of Screamadelica-era attitude, big beat dynamics and modern alt-pop flair, 'Never Before' immediately sets the tone. The title track then keeps that energy firing, a rapid-rush of melodic energy, joyous optimism and a new-found confidence in Tommy O'Dell's vocals. As suggested by the recent single 'Silver' DMA'S are expanding the scale of their sound. 'Criminals' introduces the biggest contrast on the record, its punchy, groove-focused hook taking flight from its restrained verses. The Lennon-esque intro to 'Learning Alive' soon turns itself into something unexpected, pulling on the heart-strings and scaling up the drama with a stirring string section. And yet DMA'S save the biggest surprise for last. 'Cobracaine' is a celebration of everything the band can be. It's a maximalist melting pot of sounds: an escalating wall of guitars the foundation for a tense, almost trancelike beat with vocals filtered through harmonies and vocoders. And as it hurtles to its mesmerising conclusion, one thing is certain: this is the most fully realised of the band's three albums to date. Full track listing for 'THE GLOW' can be seen below.

The band today also release a new single from the record. 'Life Is A Game Of Changing' is an anthemic and euphoric mix of electronica, melodic guitars, pounding drums and O'Dell's melancholic vocals and was premiered last night by Radio 1's Jack Saunders. The video which has also gone online today was directed by Bill Bleakley and shot in Bangkok & Pattaya, Thailand.

DMA'S shared the first taster from 'THE GLOW' with the single 'Silver' at the end of 2019 which was received fantastically from fans & media alike and is still playlisted at UK radio 3 months after release.

'THE GLOW' will be available to purchase in heavy weight vinyl as well as a limited edition heavyweight tri colour vinyl which will be available through HMV and independent record stores. There will also be exclusive merchandise bundles with signed prints plus limited edition heavyweight transparent green vinyl, cassettes and highly limited signed test pressings if purchased through the band's store;

1. Never Before
2. The Glow
3. Silver
4. Life Is A Game of Changing
5. Criminals
6. Strangers
7. Learning Alive
8. Hello Girlfriend
9. Appointment
10. Round & Around
11. Cobracaine


published: 31/01/2020 09:57

     added/updated in last day
     added/updated in last week

more about DMA's