David Gray announces 'White Ladder: the 20th anniversary' tour

news: Friday 4th October 2019

David Gray at Auditorium, Grimsby on Sat 8th Mar 2008

Multi-platinum, multi-Brit and Grammy-nominated, British singer-songwriter David Gray has announced a 12-date UK and European arena tour; White Ladder: The 20th Anniversary Tour, to celebrate the trailblazing album's 20-year anniversary. The 7 million record selling and one of the greatest and most heart-warming word-of-mouth successes in music, White Ladder will be performed by Gray with all the original band members and with all the original equipment to recreate the record in its entirety, plus a set of the greatest hits.

Talking about the announcement, Gray says: "It's the 20th anniversary of White Ladder, a unique record with its own remarkable history. Jammed full with big, open hearted songs and flooded with a raw emotional energy. It's an album that came from nowhere to steal the hearts of millions all over the world, completely transforming my life in the process. Twenty years on and it feels like White Ladder is just as alive for people now as it was back then - so to celebrate this milestone, I will be releasing a special anniversary version of the album and assembling all the original band members with all the original equipment, in order to take White Ladder out on the road and recreate the record in its entirety".

Tickets for the tour will go on sale at 9am on Friday 11th October, available from here.

Fri 20th Mar - Liverpool, M&S Bank Arena
Sat 21st Mar - Glasgow, The SSE Hydro
Sun 22nd Mar - Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena
Tue 24th Mar - Bournemouth, International Centre
Thu 26th Mar - London, The O2 Arena
Fri 27th Mar - Leeds, First Direct Arena
Sat 28th Mar - Birmingham, Resorts World Arena
Tue 31st Mar - Belfast, The SSE Arena

An expanded 20th anniversary edition of White Ladder will be released on 2xCD, 4xLP, and digital formats. This will include a special remastered edition of the iconic album plus White Ladder era previously unreleased rarities, B-sides and demos. Physical versions will be accompanied by an extensive booklet with writings by Gray about the whole White Ladder experience - from the people involved, to the stories behind the songs and memorable shows.

The newly-remastered original album will also be released on 2LP white-colored vinyl, CD and digital, available here: https://davidgray.lnk.to/wl20th This is the first time White Ladder has ever been pressed on vinyl. www.DavidGray.com will feature exclusive merchandise and music bundles.

Listen to rare track "Over My Head" live now: https://DavidGray.lnk.to/overmyhead. This haunting track originally featured as a B-side on various single releases of Babylon and This Year's Love, as well as being the bonus track on the Japanese White Ladder release.

White Ladder was born of difficult circumstances. Gray had been struggling on the margins for a decade, a lonely figure with an acoustic guitar swimming against the tide of Britpop, grunge, hip hop and electro. With three albums to his name, he found himself advertised at a gig third on the bill to beer and a barbecue. "Futility was so thick on the ground it was utterly soul destroying." He came close to quitting. But instead, he asked himself some difficult questions: "Can you make a better record? Can you write a better song? The decision was to open up and give it everything I've got."

Written and recorded on minimal budget by Gray in the bedroom of a tiny terraced house in Stoke Newington, David experimented with drum machines and electronic elements, creating a blend of folktronica that has since become a familiar part of the musical landscape, aided by drummer Craig McClune and engineer Iestyn Polson. Self-released at first on his own kitchen sink label, White Ladder slowly (very, very slowly) found an audience. It took a year to creep into the lower reaches of the British charts, then worked its way all the way up to number one. White Ladder eventually spent 3 years (from May 2000 to March 2003) in the UK top 100, spawning classic hit singles 'Babylon', 'Please Forgive Me' and 'Sail Away'. It remains in the top 30 best-selling British albums of all time and the best-selling album ever in Ireland (a nation who know a good song when they hear it).

Celebrating its 20th anniversary, it's interesting to consider the extraordinary aftermath of White Ladder. Its success spawned a new wave of singer-songwriters in an acoustic boom that resonates to this day, a soul-baring lineage that can be directly traced from David Gray to the all-conquering Ed Sheeran. Indeed, Ed is a fan, known to cover 'This Year's Love' live. Fellow world beating British superstar Adele is also an admirer, citing 'This Year's Love' as one of her all-time favourite break-up songs.

White Ladder remains an album of great depth and startling beauty, a superlative collection of emotional songs capturing a very special moment in time, as raw and immediate as when it was recorded. It's one of 11 complex, ambitious and heartfelt albums Gray has recorded in a career than spans 25 years. Some, like White Ladder, have been big commercial successes (2002's A New Day At Midnight and 2005's Life In Slow Motion were UK chart toppers), others have been more intimate and experimental. All feature music that is both intimate and broad, intensely personal yet capable of speaking to the masses.

Says Gray, "What happened with White Ladder involved more than music. It was a sort of heart and soul moment of total surrender for everybody involved, for me and the audience. That was it. It doesn't get any better than that."

4LP (2x white vinyl, 2x black vinyl)

Expanded edition track listing:
CD1 / LP1&2 - White Ladder 2020 remaster: CD2 / LP3&4 - Unreleased rarities & B-sides:
1. Please Forgive Me 1. Lights Of London
2. Babylon 2. Over My Head
3. My Oh My 3. Monday Morning
4. We're Not Right 4. Tired Of Me
5. Nightblindness 5. Roots Of Love
6. Silver Lining 6. Walking In Circles
7. White Ladder 7. Through To Myself
8. This Year's Love 8. Over My Head (demo)
9. Sail Away 9. What On Earth (demo)
10. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye 10. Silver Lining (demo)
11. This Year's Love (demo)
12. Please Forgive Me (demo)

2LP (Gatefold, white vinyl)

CD1 / LP1&2 - White Ladder 2020 remaster track listing:
1. Please Forgive Me
2. Babylon
3. My Oh My
4. We're Not Right
5. Nightblindness
6. Silver Lining
7. White Ladder
8. This Year's Love
9. Sail Away
10. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye

published: 04/10/2019 11:48

     added/updated in last day
     added/updated in last week

more about David Gray